Congress Announces Ex-MLAs as Candidates for Great Lok Sabha Elections in Madhya Pradesh

By manish198832 Apr6,2024

Congress Announces Ex-MLAs

In a significant move, the Congress Party has unveiled its candidates for the three remaining Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh, appointing two former legislators to contest the upcoming elections. This strategic decision underscores the party’s determination to secure strong representation in the region’s parliamentary affairs. With this announcement, the Congress has now finalized contenders for 28 out of the 29 Lok Sabha constituencies in Madhya Pradesh. Notably, one seat, Khajuraho, has been allocated to the Samajwadi Party (SP) as part of the INDIA bloc’s seat-sharing agreement.


The chosen candidates include Praveen Pathak, a former MLA, who will contest against Bharat Singh Kushwaha of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Gwalior constituency. Pathak, previously elected on a Congress ticket from the Gwalior South assembly seat in 2018, experienced defeat in 2023. His re-entry into the political arena through the Lok Sabha elections demonstrates the party’s confidence in his abilities and local support.

Satyapal Singh Sikarwar, another ex-legislator, has been nominated to represent the Congress in the Morena constituency. He will face off against BJP’s Shivmangal Singh Tomar. The Morena seat, previously held by BJP’s Narendra Singh Tomar in 2019, witnessed a shift when Tomar was elected as an MLA in the preceding year and subsequently appointed as the speaker of the Madhya Pradesh assembly. Sikarwar’s political journey includes his election as an MLA from the Sumawali assembly seat in 2013 under the BJP banner. His familial legacy in Sumawali, with his father’s victory in 2003, adds depth to his candidacy. However, Sikarwar’s departure from the BJP in 2020 due to alleged anti-party activities aligns him firmly with the Congress Party’s platform.

Narendra Patel has been designated as the Congress candidate for the Khandwa constituency, amidst speculation that former Union Minister Arun Yadav might also contest from there. Patel’s recent electoral venture in the 2023 assembly polls, where he contested from Badwah but faced defeat against BJP’s Sachin Birla, presents a fresh challenge. The BJP, meanwhile, has nominated sitting MP Gyaneshwar Patil for the Khandwa Lok Sabha seat.

The electoral calendar sets the stage for an intense political battle, with Gwalior and Morena scheduled for polling in the third phase on May 7, while Khandwa will witness voting in the fourth phase on May 13. These elections carry substantial significance for the Congress Party, as it seeks to consolidate its position and make substantial gains in the state’s political landscape.

In essence, the Congress Party’s selection of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh reflects a nuanced understanding of local dynamics and a strategic approach towards garnering electoral success. By fielding former MLAs with diverse backgrounds and experiences, the party aims to resonate with the electorate while effectively countering its political opponents. As the electoral campaign unfolds, all eyes will be on these constituencies, as they emerge as crucial battlegrounds in the broader political contest in Madhya Pradesh.

Related Post

One thought on “Congress Announces Ex-MLAs as Candidates for Great Lok Sabha Elections in Madhya Pradesh”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *